Motivation

I want to take the time to explain exactly what I am am trying to do here and why. The Daily Dose portion of the blog is really just a simple way to create a community here by doing things where we can get to know each other. It is also meant to challenge people to respond thoughtfully rather than emotionally or impulsively. We don’t always have to just react to what is around us, rather, with some thought we can all make sure that our words are positive, motivating, enlightening, and uplifting.

I will still be using this as a normal blog too, so if you just want to read my thoughts about things in the world I welcome you lurkers too!

So this blog is the direct result of the 2012 elections. I really wanted to just talk to people about issues and facts and I couldn’t find a place where I could do that with out being ridiculed and belittled. None of my views in life are set in stone, and that includes politics. My friends are really diverse, and I found that even people I knew and loved and respected, couldn’t hold a civil conversation about opposing views without belittling one another. So I thought that I could influence people one at at a time, but then my Facebook page ended up looking like a one person campaign rally, and there was no conversation happening.

Now, I am just as guilty as everyone else. I can be sharp tongued, and until proven otherwise, I believe I am right. Just like everyone else I feel the need to defend my viewpoints and opinions, and as I grow I try to do that now with more facts and calm than sarcasm and opinions. It isn’t a race to see who gets the best zingers – unless of course that is your goal. I have a lot of questions about the world I live in and the people in it, and I really just wanted a place where thoughtful conversation is rewarded more than getting a quick laugh by belittling someone else. I am not a professional scholar or philosopher. My education does not reflect my views, desires or goals it is just what I was interested in at the time, or what I thought would give me a decent paying job.

I firmly believe that we reap what we sow, and I am at a point in my life where I want to plant seeds that benefit humanity and promote learning rather than trying to be the funniest, meanest person on the Internet.

I want to use this forum as a place to pose questions and receive answers from everyone. I can read all about a subject and learn the technical aspects of it, but I also want to learn what other people think and believe. Not because I want to be like them, but because I want to understand them. I can’t be the only one that feels this way and I really hope that other like minded people find their way here and make this a positive experience for readers and participants alike.

Expect a lot of reading here. I finished school less than a month ago and am currently unemployed so this blog has become sort of a job for me. A way to keep my mind sharp and figure out what I want to do with the rest of my life. I just turned 40 and I wouldn’t call what I am going through a mid-life crisis, but I am going through some sort of major life change and figuring exactly what direction I am heading is unclear at the moment.

This isn’t all going to be serious and thought provoking. Sometimes I like to just ramble. Sometimes I find things so hilarious I want to share. Sometimes I am just bored and want to write. I don’t always have the best grammar, and many times things sound better in my head than in writing. If enough people subscribe to this, I will try to get an editor so you all can focus on the intent of the writing rather than my grammatical errors (I wasn’t an English major). So if you are known as a ‘grammar nazi’ you may be annoyed. Feel free to correct me if you feel strongly about it, but do so in a way that educates me and that will help correct my mistakes rather than to show your linguistic and grammatical superiority over me.

So stay tuned, I hope to make this an interesting and educational experience for everyone using my life and experiences as a launching point. I hope to be open and honest here and I hope that people will respond in kind. Discussion is going to be crucial part of this blogs success or failure. I hope to have something for everyone, and I look forward to creating a positive community with you  all.

Share your thoughts!

