Think About This: Shoveling Snow

Growing up in California I never dealt with snow. In fact, we had to travel quite a ways just to see the precious stuff. The Army, in it’s infinite wisdom transplanted me from sunny California to Upstate New York, and by ‘upstate’ I mean Canada. I had to learn to shovel snow. I also learned that my walkway wasn’t the only one that needed to be done. I also noticed a phenomenon that I had never seen before.

People help each other in the snow.

I would say more so than when it is really hot and we check on elderly neighbors and such, but everyday people, helping other people. Something about snow makes us better. Get stuck in a parking lot with a dead battery and you may have to ask around a bit for help, get stuck in the snow and everyone grabs a shovel.

We had some light snow here the last couple of days and we have our neighbors who we regularly help with driveways and sidewalks. Our roommate has a quad with a plow on the front, so when it’s really bad he does the whole street AND all the driveways. The whole neighborhood comes out, and it’s like a little social event. I like it.

Who do you help and when? Do you have certain neighbors you look after? Do you live in a snowy place and understand this phenomenon I am talking about?

3 thoughts on “Think About This: Shoveling Snow

  1. I help EVERYBODY whenever I can. A few years back we had an awesome winter. I went to the Wawa up the street from me and there was a woman just sitting there, I didn’t think much of it and went on my way. A few hours later I went back to Wawa and she was still there. So I approached her and asked her why she was sitting there and she said that her car was stuck at the bottom of a hill just around the corner and she had been waiting there all night (something like twelve hours) for somebody to come help her. So I ran home grabbed a roommate and went back to Wawa. I picked up the woman drove her to her car and my roommate jumped in my vehicle. I hopped in this woman’s car and proceeded to drive it up the hill and got her and her car to level land.
    I have lots of stories like that but that one stays with me for several reasons. The first one being that it amazed me that during that twelve hours that she was sitting there NOBODY even tried to help her.
    The second reason being much like some of the other rescues that I have done over the years, she was stuck simply because she didn’t know how to drive in the snow, which MANY people do not.
    The third reason, unlike you I have lived in Pa my whole life and while I do agree that some people go above and beyond to help others there are far too many people who will turn the other way and pretend they didn’t see anything. That really bothers me.
    Every elderly person I see I think of my Mother, every person I see that needs help I think of my siblings and family. I would want someone to help my Mother or family if they were in need and therefore I help anyone I see who is in need.
    The saying goes, “do onto others as you would have done to you”, well that really isn’t enough for me. I do onto others as I would want done to me and anyone I care about. Karma can be just as positive a thing as it can be negative.

    • I have never known anyone in my life so willing to help anyone and everyone as you are – and you don’t even need a snowy excuse. It is one of the many reasons I love you so much. 🙂

  2. I truly believe that helping people is good for your soul. What gets me more than anything is the shock and mistrust when I do help people. There was a homeless man at a Wawa nearby, as I walked out of Wawa he asked me if I had some change. I went to my truck and got together all the change I had in there and the one dollar I had on me and gave it to him. He was very taken back. I then went to the back of my truck and took out the blanket I leave in there for emergencies and proceeded to ask the homeless man if he wanted it and if it would help? He was actually hesitant about taking it as though it actually frightened him. That to me is more sad than the fact that he is homeless.
    What has happened to us as a society that helping someone raises suspicion?

Share your thoughts!

