More on Marriage Equality: Thank You!

equality

Unless you live in a box and have not been on Facebook in the last day you have seen this picture or some variation of it on your friends, family and neighbors profile pictures. Those of you who have changed your profile pictures understand why you did it, but I don’t know if you realize the impact it has had on me and I am sure many other people fighting for marriage equality.

Today I have been inspired and validated by you all.  It is one thing to gain the acceptance of your close circles, that takes work and perseverance in some ways. I have watched as people in my own life have gone from, “It’s a sin and you are going to hell” to “I love and support you no matter who you love.” It is quite another to see so many strangers no matter their gender, race, sexual orientation, or even religious preference stand up and say that they support the rights for people to marry.

It affirms for me how great our country can be. It also confirms for me that there are so many people out there who support us. One of the questions that came from the SCOTUS today was if this was all happening too fast… I don’t think so. Could you imagine if MLK had Facebook? If the fight to end segregation wasn’t fought on schoolyard steps but on a global social media network? The SCOTUS needs to realize that times change, and things do move faster now because we can communicate with one another with more than just signs on steps. We can do silly little things like change our profile pictures and send a very clear and colorful message. I am thankful for it.

I am thankful for everyone of you who has stood with us in this fight whether you just changed your picture or took an active role in getting us this far. To see you all gives me hope, and I am sure there are kids (and adults) out there wondering and scared to come out – they just may have received the validation that they too may have needed to see. Just think – your little picture may have seriously saved someones life.

So thank you, thank you, thank you! It brings sincere joy to my heart and I have some renewed faith in my community and country! Also even if you haven’t changed your picture and you support us, I am thankful for you too! It was just really awesome to see the visual today.

5 thoughts on “More on Marriage Equality: Thank You!

  1. Pingback: History in the making… | tolerantpeople

  2. Beautifully said, both of ur posts on marriage equality are well put, and appreciated. I fully support your right to Marry (& divorce) whom you choose and hope others see the lack of difference between ur marriage to ur husband and the marriage you desire. that was a great point. Great posts! I’m a happily married woman (to a man) but have MANY MANY friends in your situation and am happy to support the cause and freedom, liberty & MARRIAGE for all!

Share your thoughts!

