The Versatile Blogger Award

versatileblogger112

I got a prize! Bikerchick57 nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award and that gives me a nice warm fuzzy feeling inside. It is super awesome to have a fellow blogger think highly enough of your blog to give you an award and for that I am very grateful, surprised, and happy! Bikerchick has quickly become one of my most interactive followers and I love to death that she “victimizes” my blog with “likes and comments.” I am glad to have her around (even though she has cat hair all over her) on that note, her cats blog too; Porch Time, and I want to thank her for the nomination, but mostly for being a super cool follower!

So there are some rules for the Versatile Blogger Award. I get to nominate 15 of you who I recently discovered or follow regularly to bestow this award on and I have to tell you all 7 things about me. I talk so much about myself on here that I don’t know what you guys don’t already know about me but I’ll give it a shot. So here goes…

1. I used to go into bars and pretend to be a palm reader. Drunk people are fun to mess with and palm reading for beer was a great hobby for a while. I don’t actually know how to read palms though – I just made stuff up by observing people and they thought I was magical.

2. I LOVE to cook and will grill anything. Stephanie says that I should post recipes on here – and I came up with a title for my cookbook one day, “You won’t need a measuring cup.” See, I don’t follow recipes – I look at them and get ideas then I just make stuff up from there. I get this from my Mother who used to “experiment” on my friends and I when I was growing up. My experiments turn out much better than my Mom’s (no offense Mom but the Chutney experiment of yours almost killed us all). I add spices and things until I feel there is enough – so I could never write a recipe and say “Add 1/4 cup lemon juice” because in reality – I have no freaking idea how much lemon juice I actually used.

3. I am have an irrational fear of clowns. I can handle clowns at the circus, but outside of their “natural habitat” they are evil and must be destroyed.

4. I am a Libra. I once had my chart done and I am as Libra as Libra’s get. I don’t believe that astrology has the answers to explain who we really are, but I am always amazed at the stuff people come up with to try and decipher our behaviors and personalities. There must be something to it though – people have been believing in this stuff forever. I feel the same about numerology and one day I really want to go and have the bumps on my head analyzed (Phrenology).

5. I have visited 21 different countries on 5 continents. Antarctica, and South America are my last continental frontiers to conquer. I love to travel, and learning about new cultures and religions. I think the best way to do that is to go to the source. The Internet and Google Earth are great, but nothing beats actually going someplace and learning from the people themselves. I will travel anywhere and if people won’t come with me, I will go by myself.

6. I do really stupid things when I am intoxicated. Most people do – but I take it to a whole new level as I sleepwalk and pee on things when I am REALLY drunk. This is another subject Stephanie thinks I should write more about. I could have a blog dedicated to my drunken adventures alone – I am not proud – but I have done some seriously funny stuff. Thank God I got it all out of my system before YouTube and Facebook. Someday I will share with you some of the better drunk stories because they are hilarious.

7. I have a one track mind, but I am also easily distracted. I write better than I talk – when talking I will change the subject 100 times and eventually get back to the original conversation, but writing allows me to work on staying on track and not being a word spaz. I am also not good at multitasking. If I am on the computer, someone (Stephanie usually) can have an entire conversation with me that I won’t hear a word of. She can talk for an hour and I will turn around and say, “Huh?” If you want me to hear you – get eye contact or I am not really there. This was a frustrating thing for Stephanie to learn. Poor Stephanie.

So now I get to nominate 15 of you awesome bloggers – so here in no particular order are 15 of my personal favorites:

1. Sweet Mother – She is hilarious and in the process of being hilarious she manages to make you think too. I love her stuff!

2. Long Distance Dad – In his own words, “My life completely changed when I started mentoring Mtuseni, a boy living in a settlement outside Johannesburg. This blog begins to share some of my experiences as a first-time “dad” to a teenager 8,000 miles away.” His writing about his experiences with Mtuseni are honest and inspiring.

3. hadafewbeers – Funny, slightly offensive, boobs, beer, and all the things Todd’s poor wife puts up with. Without his editor Fran – his blog would make no sense to anyone reading it while sober.

4. Love is our thing – Like Tolerant People, this is a blog with a purpose and is beautifully and thoughtfully written. There is a lot of religious views on there but it is done in a way that is personal and respectful and I for one very much appreciate it.

5. Oh God My Wife is German – An American ex-pat with a German wife. This blog is hilarious. I mean it is REALLY REALLY hilarious. If you have ever battled with someone learning a new language (especially English) you understand how even innocent phrases can come out so wrong that they are funny. This blog is FULL of those. Go read it and laugh. 

6. Humans are Weird – If you haven’t already figured that out, go read his blog. Sometimes offensive (he doesn’t care), almost always funny, and sometimes incredibly insightful.

7. evoL = Allies for equality. The author of this blog is a gay dad and shares about being a gay dad in a non-gay dad friendly environment. The posts are thoughtful and they have supported my blog many times. He is a GREAT dad and is working to change perceptions about gay parent families and the trials they go through.

8. Black, White, & read all over – This blog has several different authors who bring different perspectives to different issues. It is one of those blogs that I love reading because you  really never know what you are going to get.

9. Science Rant – This is a new blog, but I have loved the posts so far. Entertaining and educational – and you know, it’s about science so it makes me happy.

10. Raising five kids with disabilities – this woman is a saint. A funny and inspirational saint.

11. Swing State Voter – A truly versatile blog. Sometimes political, sometimes not, but always thoughtful, entertaining, and fun.

12. How to be liked by everyone – Who doesn’t want to be liked by everyone? Some good advice here, and funny.

13. The Green Study – Entertaining and insightful.

14. Moolta – Their “About Page” sums everything up nicely, “Moolta.com is a place where friends dare each other to win cash, prizes and glory! Create and complete dares with your friends, favorite celebs and favorite brands.  Moolta launched in Gainesville, Florida (Go Gators!), but is used and loved worldwide!” People do some crazy stuff and you can read all about it on this blog.

15. Julie Green – Last but certainly not least is this blog by a talented young author – From her about page, “The aim of this blog (apart from sharing creative ‘stuff’) is to help Julie and others to demystify everyday experiences, seek the grass roots perspectives of daily life, and find ways to live the best versions of themselves to attain greater inner peace.” I think those are noble goals and she writes about them so well.

EDIT! 
I have to add a number 16.
16. Ruth RainWater – “I write blogs because I think I have a lot to say. I have a lifetime of experience to share. And I make no apology for my opinions. I try to be sensitive to other people, but sometimes, I just have to vent. So these are my opinions, some pictures, some helpful hints, whatever strikes my fancy at that particular time when I sit down to write.” Ruth and I seem to think a lot a like, and I couldn’t nominate 15 blogs and not have hers in there!

9 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thanks for the lovely comments and link to my blog. The WordPress community is becoming increasingly fun and I already checked out and am following a couple of your favorite blogs.

    • Thank YOU and I am sure they appreciate your visiting them. I think that is the real point behind these awards – you get to shine a light on a blog you like AND learn about new blogs you might like that you may not have found otherwise.

  2. Hey thanks for the shout out! I’m glad at least one person enjoys them. I haven’t posted in a week or so but your shout made my day. I better get on with some writing 🙂

  3. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award, thanks Julianne Victoria! | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Share your thoughts!

