My Stupid Back

thinktherefore

I have neglected my little blog and all of the Internet for that last three days. Today is the first day I have managed to sit at my computer for even a few minutes. So this is just a teeny update to let you all know that I am still here, I just can’t sit at the computer very long.

Just a word of advice to parents out there; When the school nurse tells you that your kid has scoliosis and then they say, “They will grow out of it” it’s not always true. I didn’t grow out of it, and then I joined the Army. They said during my physical that I had scoliosis and asked me if I had any symptoms. Well when I was younger I didn’t, so I told them no. However, I had never tested my back before that. Even in basic training my back proved to be much more of a problem than I ever imagined. I spent the majority of my time in the Army on a permanent profile (meaning I couldn’t do what everyone else had to do) and my back problems have dictated my life even when I fought tooth and nail to hide it.

Anyway, I have a crooked spine that went from a 16 degree curve to a 23 degree curve just in my time in the Army. That has led to bulged disks, which incapacitate me occasionally. This is one of those times.

I’ll be back soon –

 

3 thoughts on “My Stupid Back

  1. I feel your pain. I also have scoliosis and the nurse told my parents and then me that I needed to sit up straight. Yeah, well that didn’t help. I went through a bad period around the year 2000 when I couldn’t hold myself over the sink to wash my face in the morning. Killer bad. I eventually found some relief through my chiropractor, myofascial massage guy, a foam roller and exercise.

    I’m sorry you’re going through this and hope you feel better soon.

Share your thoughts!

