Back in the loop – and it feels like a noose

thinktherefore

After being out of commission for the better part of a week due to my stupid back deciding I needed a break; I have found that being out of the loop was quite nice.

So I log into Facebook yesterday for a while and here are the stories I see: An 11 year old kid sings the National Anthem at a basketball game, and because he is Mexican, the racists come out in force. The Republicans are still talking about the “low incidences” of pregnancy from rape. Glen Beck lost his voice – a true blessing for America. The building inspector who was in charge of the building that collapsed in center city killed himself. Lots and lots of gay hate – you know they make commercials now with gays in them! Gah! More people this year have been killed by toddlers with guns than by terrorists. The NSA is spying on us – still. According to Laura Ingram (Fox news loon), expanding plan B contraception is, “a good deal for pedophiles, a good deal for people who commit statutory rape against young girls” – yup, she said that. Then there is my local news station who is only reporting on Golf because the U.S. Open is here. No news – just Tiger Woods, rain, golf, Tiger, rain.

So yeah. It’s a great country we live in these days isn’t it? That was just from scrolling my newsfeed for about 15 minutes. I can’t imagine what I would find if I sat here longer.

I mean really, is it just me or does nothing make any sense anymore? I really don’t understand how so many people can be so far out of touch in this “information age” and are perfectly content to stay there. Like with the NSA thing, Republicans are screaming up a storm, and they would have an argument if they weren’t the ones who started this domestic spying thing in the first place – but oh yeah; we can’t remember that far back. I was pissed years ago when the Patriot Act was signed; where the hell was the outrage then? The hypocrisy of the members of our government and the gullibility of the American people is seriously damaging our country – and no one seems to realize it; or the people who do realize it can’t or won’t do anything to change it.

So yeah, as I get back into the swing of things I am finding that I feel more than just a little useless. Just in my own home, I have been an absolute lump for the last week and could do nothing about it, and then there is the rest of the world – where I feel like I can’t do anything about that either. It’s kind of depressing. Then there is the looming fact that I really need a job because I really need money – who doesn’t right? Anyway – things feel a little out of control and overwhelming right now and I don’t feel like I have any answers or even coherent thoughts about things. You would think that a week “off” would have reset me a little.

On the plus side – our garden is doing great! Fresh food on the way! Hopefully over the next couple of days, I’ll get back to ‘normal’ with my ramblings and observations. I still can’t sit here too long, and I think that is a good thing for now! Small doses. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back in the loop – and it feels like a noose

  1. advice my therapist recently offered me after hearing a rant from me quite similar to this one in your blog today: “each great leap forward mankind has made in the past has generally been preceded by a period of great fear and disconnect. if we, who are progressive in nature, can keep believing that our limited efforts are working based on the seeming disconnect between our neighbors and ourselves, we can be sure that the great leap is just around the corner, maybe not in our lifetimes, but we can believe it’s imminent and not feel so discouraged.”

Share your thoughts!

