It is a beautiful day!

smile

It’s the first day of summer and at least for us here in Philly it is a beautiful day! I am finding that after yesterdays post (which has gone kind of crazy) that I don’t want to feel outraged about anything today. As I sat here trying to figure out what to write today, I was pulled to go a little nuts on the Republicans and their war against everyone – but I just can’t seem to muster the outrage. It is just too nice of a day to focus on negativity.

Today, instead of being pissed off, I would like to spend some time being grateful. So today I am just going to list a few things that I am grateful for.

1. I have my Stephanie. She gets to be number one because well, she really is my joy. I have been in quite a few relationships, and I have been in love before; but for the first time in my life I am with someone who helps me grow as a person, loves me unconditionally, and lets me love her back. In some ways I feel kind of bad for my exes simply because I spent my youth always wanting more or better, I was immature and selfish, and I know I made a million bad decisions that hurt the people I have been with in the past. While I don’t dwell on that too much, I am just pointing it out because I realize now what I have, where 20 years ago I would have been blind to it.

I have this amazing woman in my life now who I can’t imagine living without. She makes me laugh everyday, we can talk for hours and hours about everything and nothing, and she holds me accountable. She laughs at my jokes and is my number one fan. She takes care of me in both big and small ways. We have our ups and downs, but we are able to experience them together and we help each other through. It really is the most complete and satisfying relationship I have ever had.  Being loved is awesome – and I am grateful that Stephanie chose me to spend her life with. I am one seriously lucky girl!

2. I have a home. As much as I complain about Philadelphia, this is the longest I have lived in one place since I was in High School. Between the Army and my nomadic life – I have moved 23 times in the last twenty years. I usually get antsy around the two year mark – but for the first time in my life I am actually really quite pleased with my living arrangement and the family that we have here. I love our yard and our dogs. I love our roommate and his willingness to let me live here (it’s his house). More than just a place to live though – this place has really been a home for me and probably the first one I have had since my Mom died. “Home” is something I have always wanted and now I have it, and it’s awesome.

3. I have my health. Sure I am starting to have health issues – I have the skin cancer I need to deal with, my lack of parts (gallbladder) lends to more than my fair share of upset stomach and other digestive issues, but for the most part – I am doing well, especially considering all the abuse I have put my poor body though. So while I do have some issues, I know that pretty much every issue I have could have been avoided had I just taken care of myself. Hindsight is 20/20 right? Now I am taking better care of myself and I am grateful for the opportunity to treat myself better.

4. This blog. I LOVE this blog. It has changed from what I had originally set out to do, but the response has been awesome and the fact that so many of you read my posts is amazing to me. I hit 11,000 views yesterday. 11,000 people have read something that I created! That’s why I love the Internet so much. I never would have imagined that so many people would want to read my writing or care about my opinions. This blog also gives me purpose and motivation. Being unemployed sucks, but I do appreciate having the time to sit and write. This blog keeps me on schedule and helps keep me motivated. I love getting up every morning and writing.

5. I am grateful for all of the people in my life. From lifelong friends to new ones – I may not be the best at keeping in touch, but I always know that there are people scattered around the globe who love and care for me, and I for them and that makes life better. My friends throughout my life have taken care of me, and have always ensured that I am never left to fend for myself. It’s nice to know that there are so many people out there who won’t let me fall too far.

So there are just a few things that I am grateful for this beautiful summer morning.

What are you grateful for today? 

4 thoughts on “It is a beautiful day!

Share your thoughts!

