Nothing is safe

monsanto

As I have recently taken some days off from posting and delving into the issues that face us daily, it has occurred to me that ignoring things don’t make them go away. Now don’t get me wrong, I have known this for quite some time. I am an expert at ignoring things I don’t like. However, in today’s American society it is detrimental to just ignore things and hope that they get better without the intervention of the American people.

It isn’t even about liberal versus conservative or religious versus non-religious. It is quite honestly people who care about other people, and those who use people to promote whatever agenda makes them the most money. I have talked before about how we are trying to eat better in our home, and once you start researching how to really do that you will find that nothing is safe anymore. Going to the grocery store is basically going to go and pick out which kind of cancer you want to die from. As you all know, I am an Obama supporter – but that doesn’t translate to, “I support every decision or policy he has ever made.” His signing of the Monsanto Protection Act makes me cringe, but you know – it’s money in his pocket once he leaves office. That’s how politicians work no matter how awesome they are on some issues. We are an easily distracted lot of individuals, and politicians with the help of the media have ensured that we stay distracted and misinformed.

Stephanie brought up a really good point the other day when she said that the only reason we are knowledgeable about companies like Monsanto, GMO foods, and cancer causing agents in our packaging, soaps, hairspray, deodorant… (well you see where I am going right?) is because we have the Internet. Without this tool, we would live in out little bubbles, our “safe” communities, and we would never even realize that one company owns the majority of food production IN THE WORLD. In order to profit from that – they genetically modify seeds, soil, water, and plants to produce a higher yield without care or concern for the health of the people consuming it. It’s a vicious cycle of collaboration between food producers, pharmaceutical companies, corrupt healthcare systems, and an ignorant population. The thing is that now, with the help of this communication tool; the “ignorant population” part is starting to fall apart. Thank God.

We are learning now (at least in our house) to view food as fuel for our bodies rather than a ride on a delicious train to a painful death. When I was younger, one of the things I remember my youth pastor saying to us was the phrase, “Garbage in, Garbage out.” While he was talking about devil music and playing Dungeons and Dragons – I am reminded of that saying now with food. Our bodies respond in kind to what we put in it. If we put cancer causing agents in our bodies – we get cancer. If we avoid them (which today is nearly freakin’ impossible) we can live long healthy lives, even reverse some of the damage we have done to ourselves. The more I learn, the less excuses I have to ignore my own knowledge. It is quite inconvenient. Being ignorant and eating a Big Mac is so much easier than researching, finding an organic farmer, paying a higher price for organic beef, making my own buns, growing my own lettuce (with seeds purchased from anyone not associated with Monsanto), growing my own tomatoes so I can make my own ketchup… yeah. It’s hard.

You know what I am finding though? The more we change – the more we enjoy our food and the better we feel; the easier it gets. We have been brainwashed to save time, to make things easy, to appreciate “fast” more than we appreciate “good.” Now we aren’t there yet. We still buy produce from the store, but we are trying to at least grow some if it in our backyard. We still buy tampons, deodorant, and hairspray. The nicely packaged meat in the store still makes it into our home (it won’t for long – we plan on buying a cow from a farmer we know; we are gonna need a bigger freezer). You see though – even though we aren’t there yet, we are thinking about our futures and paying attention to how gullible we have been as a society. Change is hard, and changing food might be one of the hardest things ever (aside from quitting smoking). At least though we have stopped eating fast food, we prepare as much as we can here at home, and we use as many ingredients from the garden as possible. It is slow and steady change, and hopefully our bodies will respond positively.

This week my goal is to learn how to make our own bread and tortillas. I eat tortillas as snacks. I always have, and I love soft fluffy flour tortillas. There should only be five ingredients in them: flour, water, baking powder, Lard ( yeah I know, there are plenty of recipes though that leave the lard out) and a pinch of salt. On the package of tortillas sitting in my home right now there are 24 ingredients listed, most of which I can’t pronounce. How is that even food anymore? It’s more like a nasty chemistry experiment that we eat. For the cost of a couple packs of tortillas, I can purchase the five ingredients I need and have enough to make the equivalent of 6 packages bought from the store (or more). I just need to take the time to make them. You know what else? They will taste 100% better then what I normally purchase. I’ll let you all know how they turn out.

So anyway, while being aware can be inconvenient, ignoring things can quite literally kill you. I am thankful for this Internet thingy that allows me to expand my mind, my health, and my influence. We can absolutely rewrite the script handed to us by politicians and monster companies looking for profit at our expense. If we stop purchasing – they will stop producing, or at least start trying to do it in a more responsible way; but only if we demand it and kick ’em where it hurts – in their wallets and offshore bank accounts.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Nothing is safe

  1. Yes, Monsanto is evil in its pursuit of the almighty dollar. They won’t be happy until they do own all the food production. And it’s difficult to keep organic foods organic when GMO pollen is floating around and poisoning organic food. And then Monsanto sues the farmer whose organic fields are poisoned fo using their GMO crops without permission. We have to keep fighting.

    • I hear ya Ruth. It’s scary right now, I am just glad that globally our eyes are opening. It is going to take years and years of change to fix all that is broken, but we have to start somewhere – and that somewhere is in our own homes.

      I realized earlier this week that I have not seen even ONE honey bee in my garden this season. I have carpenter bees, bumble bees, and some other bee I don’t know what it is (maybe a kind of wasp I think) – but it is scary that just since last spring/summer the honey bee population here in PA is almost gone. Without them, we won’t be eating anything that isn’t manufactured. It’s scary and it is almost worldwide a problem caused by Monsanto.

      I’ll “bee” fighting with you!!

  2. That is fabulous that you are eating healthier and staying away from fast food. Since I’m an apartment dweller, I’m not able to grow food unless it can live in a pot on my small patio, but I’ve been trying to learn more about the foods I eat so that I make good choices at the grocery store. I was shaking my head the other day at how expensive it is to buy gluten-free, vegan or organic products when they contain fewer ingredients or substitutions. We wonder why our country is so overweight and yet everything that is better for our health is overpriced and out of the reach of someone living on a fixed budget. It’s because of the companies that want to make a profit for themselves at the expense of many. Anyhow, congrats to you and Stephanie for making that change in your lives…you will feel so much better for it.

    • It’s true, they don’t make it easy or cheap. Try going out to local farmers markets instead of the supermarket or places like Whole Foods that mark up the cost because they can. Find a nice local grower – even if you have to drive a bit to get to them.

      Also, I use hydroponic gardening during the winter to keep fresh herbs in the house. Aerogardens are nice and they have ones that will fit on even the smallest kitchen counters. They have larger ones that you can use for peppers and tomatoes too! I have two of them!

      The initial cost is high (it is to start a garden too) but the rewards are well worth the effort. Also even in an apartment you can make a lot of things from scratch instead of buying pre-made foods.

      Yeah. It really isn’t easy, but unless we start changing individually – we can’t expect change globally.

  3. We have a lovely farmers market every Saturday but can’t get there every week. I have to get back, though, for beets, peaches, melons and tomatoes. There is also a local farm market truck parked through the summer, a block away. I’m waiting for corn to come in season. No Whole Foods here, we would have better luck getting a Trader Joe’s in the area. I have been growing cilantro, basil and lemon tyme on the patio, but have to check into the aerogardens. That would be fun during the depressing days of winter. Thanks for that tip.

Share your thoughts!

